Back in business


I’m faced with a dilemma — I can no longer bitch on my blog about not having a job. And I refuse to start worrying about what will happen at the end of the year when this long-term temp gig is over. I may very well be hired, as it appears this company has plenty of work, but I’ve also heard that it tends to be busy this time of year and that it may slow down soon. It’s OK. If I leave at the end of the year, my unemployment benefits will simply continue.

I’m also not going to obsess about suddenly being too busy. (I’ll mention it; I just won’t obsess about it.) I have a manuscript that I’m proofreading due in October, and another editing job that I accepted just before I was hired for the full-time job.

I have no complaints yet about what I’ve been doing or any of my coworkers. The personalities will reveal themselves gradually. The “difficult” one in the office is sure to rear her head. It’s probably a “she” since the staff is mostly female, at least the editorial staff. Who will I have to watch my back around? Who will I end up going to lunch with? Speaking of lunch, can I bring mine to work and trust that it will still be in the fridge at lunchtime? (I have worked at several companies where people stole others’ food, and a friend of mine once had a boss–I think it was the owner of the company–who stole employees’ lunches.) I am spending $200 a month on my commute now, so I can’t eat out every day. Although — it is possible to eat lunch in NYC for under $5.

I am keeping mainly quiet, taking on assignments, asking appropriate questions and just doing as good a job as I can. I’m friendly but not too talkative yet. In time.

I waited until today before asking if I could possibly change chairs, because the one that came with my cubicle could not be adjusted. I don’t like to lean back in my seat when I work. I need better support, and in this job I’ll be spending a lot of hours in my seat.

As the temp, the new person, I don’t want to make waves, but a chair is such a minor thing to fix (well, usually) and if I didn’t say something about it I would surely be miserable soon. It was no issue at all. There are several empty cubicles on the row parallel to mine and I asked if I could I swap chairs with one of those. I’m feeling more comfortable with the replacement and I was happy I spoke up. I’ll be comfortable in my new surroundings, too, eventually.

About janarzooman

Freelance writer and editor. View all posts by janarzooman

Leave a Reply

