Year in review


I feel odd writing this, because I haven’t written in so long. But since it’s the New Year, and I like to think about change/self-improvement at the turn of the calendar, I figured I’d write a quick few lines. (The self-improvement here being: write a blog more often in 2012!) And anyway, I need to write, and there’s no time like the present.

This originally was meant to be a New Year’s Eve post, but New Year’s Eve I was slightly under the weather, and that was followed by two more days of ill health. Head cold compounded by two-day stomach virus. Ugh. Today, I’m slightly better (taking antibiotics) and preparing to head back to work after a week off.

I intended for this blog to be about working, unemployment and editing, but as soon as I actually started working a few months ago (while still doing freelance projects), the blog went by the wayside. I have about three drafts in progress that I may or may not return to–but haven’t published any.

I’m busy and my commute is, once again, eating into a lot of my time. I have a novel that I’m proofreading now, too, which is fabulous. I’m so happy that since I started my freelance business this year, I’ve had fairly regular work. I hope it continues in the New Year. My temp job, at a medical marketing/education company, is also continuing in 2012, so I have some steady income for a little while longer.

It’s uncertain where things will go this year, but then again, isn’t it always uncertain? I am not worrying, and will try not to. My husband, thankfully, remains in the same job he’s held for over 20 years. I’m in the same field, which is at least something. Publishing has been changing for a while and I don’t know what my future will be with that.

I admit to a bit of nervousness about returning to the temp job. It’s always odd, being the temp. I want to be friendly and get to know people, but I don’t know how long I will be there and I really just need to focus on my work.

I don’t know yet if I can survive as a freelance editor. Unemployment has carried me through when I wasn’t working earlier in 2011. Now the temp job is carrying me. I’d love to just do the copy editing and proofreading … obviously staying at home and working is preferable to paying $50/week and wasting over 2 hours a day commuting. We’ll see.

The New Year feels reasonably positive. Last year wasn’t that bad; it just gave me a few setbacks and challenges.

About janarzooman

Freelance writer and editor. View all posts by janarzooman

Leave a Reply

